54 Sings Jane Eyre

Feinstein’s/54 Below
February 28, 2018

About the Concert

Yoni both Assistant Produced and Associate Directed 54 Sings Jane Eyre. The evening was directed and produced by Robbie Rozelle and music directed by Cameron Moncur.

“Rozelle’s love for this particular musical became a passion project that we could all enjoy, featuring fabulous voices at one of Manhattan’s finest venues. … I wouldn’t be surprised to see this brought back to 54 Below. It had a classy feel aided by a strong story, good lyrics, and a fun cast. — Cabaret Scenes

From Charlotte Brontë’s masterpiece, Jane Eyre tells the story of an orphaned girl, brutalized by her aunt and then sent to an orphan school for girls where she suffers more mistreatment.  There she meets a young girl who changes her life forever.  When Jane later becomes a governess at Thornfield Hall she meets a mysterious man who holds a dark secret.  Love, forgiveness, and transformation are the themes in this gothic romance for the ages.

Jane Eyre was produced on Broadway in 2000, featuring a book by John Caird and music and lyrics by Paul Gordon. Nominated for five Tony Awards including Best Musical, the Tony-nominated score was sung for the first time in New York since its premature departure sung by a dazzling cast.

The concert was led by Samantha Massell (Broadway: Fiddler on the Roof, Regional: Rags, The Hunchback of Notre Dame) as Jane Eyre, Kevin Massey (Broadway: A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder, Memphis, Tarzan, Big River) as Edward Rochester, and original cast member Mary Stout (Broadway: Jane Eyre, Beauty and the Beast, My Favorite Year) revisiting her role as Mrs. Fairfax. Rounding out the cast were Celia Hottenstein (National Tour: The Phantom of the Opera, Off-Broadway: Desperate Measures), Dana Costello (Broadway: Finding Neverland, Jekyll & Hyde), Ryan Speakman (Jane Eyre 2017 workshop), Mavis Simpson-Ernst (Broadway: Evita, Off-Broadway: You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown, Feinstein’s/54 Below: 54 Sings Alice in Wonderland), Clay Singer, and an ensemble comprised of Amisha Amy, Deirdre Donohue, Asher Dubin (Feinstein’s/54 Below: The Happy Time: 50th Anniversary Concert), Alexandra Frost, Alex Hartman, Sean C. White, Ethan Larsen, and Paris Alexander Nesbitt (Feinstein’s/54 Below: The Happy Time: 50th Anniversary Concert).