The Happy Time: 50th Anniversary Concert

Feinstein’s/54 Below
April 19, 2018

About the Concert

As the Assistant Director for Kander & Ebb’s The Happy Time: 50th Anniversary Concert, Yoni worked alongside Tony Award winner Michael Rupert to celebrate his Broadway debut, fifty years later.

“But when it came to the showstoppers, it was two women who took the stage in ways that only seasoned pros such as they are capable. Tony Award winners Karen Ziemba and Debbie Gravitte showed what makes them the lethal talents they have been throughout their careers … the show’s ensemble stuffed onto the tiny 54 Below stage as if they were all playing the Winter Garden … all of which added up to… well, a happy time.” — Theater Pizzazz

To commemorate its 50th anniversary of opening night on Broadway, Feinstein’s/54 Below brought back one of musical theater’s most romantic scores, The Happy Time. Broadway veteran, and original cast member, Tony Award winner Michael Rupert, takes audiences back to 1968 to rediscover one of the greatest scores from one of Broadway’s most accomplished teams, Tony Award winners John Kander and Fred Ebb (ChicagoCabaret).

Jacques, a world-roving photographer, returns to his French-Canadian village hoping to recover the happy time of his childhood. His nephew, fascinated by his uncle’s world, proposes to drop out of school and become his assistant. When Jacques is confronted with this new responsibility, he begins to question his own life choices.

Featuring an all-star cast including: Tony Award winner Debbie Gravitte (Broadway: Jerome Robbins BroadwayChicago), Tony Award winner Karen Ziemba (Broadway: ContactPrince of BroadwayCurtains), Tony Award winner Michael Rupert (Broadway: Sweet CharityPippinLegally Blonde), Jim Walton (Broadway: Merrily We Roll AlongShe Loves Me), Drama Desk Award winner Jim Brochu (Off-Broadway: Zero Hour), Claybourne Elder (Broadway: Sunday in the Park with GeorgeBonnie and Clyde), Kara Lindsay (Broadway: NewsiesWicked), Nic Rouleau (Broadway/West End/National Tour: The Book of Mormon), Iris Beaumier (Regional: The Marvelous WonderettesRagtime), Mary Callanan (Broadway: BandstandThe Bridges of Madison County), Alex Dorf (Regional: NewsiesMamma Mia!), Asher Dubin (Off-Broadway: The Body PoliticThe Babies, Feinstein’s/54 Below: 54 Sings Jane Eyre), Peyton Lusk (Broadway: Falsettos, Off-Broadway: Bar Mitzvah Boy), Jesse Markowitz (Regional: Avenue QHello, Dolly!), Janet Metz (Broadway: Fiddler on the RoofOnce Upon a Mattress, Off-Broadway: Falsettoland), Paris Alexander Nesbitt (National Tour: The Book of Mormon, Feinstein’s/54 Below: 54 Sings Jane Eyre), AJ Shively (Broadway: Bright StarLa Cage aux Folles), Cecelia Ticktin (National Tour: Wicked), and Ryan Vona (Broadway: ParamourOnce)

Directed by Michael Rupert, Music Direction by Eugene Gwozdz, Produced by Robert W. Schneider, Assistant Directed by Yoni Weiss